Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominations 2022 – Deadline

Update for more information: The Independent Spirit Film Awards today announced its 37th nominations for a pre-recorded YouTube reel of Benny Feldstein, Regina Hall and Naomi Watts.

The Spirit Awards will take place on Sunday, March 6, 2022 and broadcast on IFC, and will be head to head on the beach.

Check out this morning’s announcement here:

best feature


come on come on

the missing daughter



Best First Feature

7 days


queen glory

test pattern

Indian wild

Best female driver

Isabelle Fuhrmann, beginner

Brittany S Hall, test pattern

patty harrison With each other

Taylor Paige, Zola

Callie Reese, Catch Fair One

Best Male Leader

Clifton Collins Jr., jockey

Frankie Faison Kenneth Chamberlain murder

Michael Gray, Indian wild

Udo Care swan song

Simon Rex red rocket

best director

ganicza bravo, Zola

Maggie Gyllenhaal the missing daughter

Lauren Hadaway, beginner

Mike Mills, come on come on

Ninja Tyberg gladly

Best Documentary


run away

in the same breath


summer of the soul

best help

Jesse Buckley the missing daughter

Amy Forsyth beginner

Ruth Negga pass

Revika Anne Reustle, gladly

Susanna’s son red rocket

Best assistant

Coleman Domingo, Zola

Miko Gattuso, queen of glory

Troy Kotsur, kuda

Will Patton, sweet thing

Chask Spencer Indian wild

best screen

come on come on, Mike Mills

lost daughter Maggie Gyllenhaal

swan song, Todd Stevens

With each other, Nicole Beckwith

Zola, Janicza Bravo, Jeremy O. Harris

Best Initial Screen

Lyle Mitchell Corbin Jr. Indian wild

Matt Fever; The story of Sheldon D. cicada

Clever Michael Ford test pattern

Fran Kranz, Collective

Michael Sarnosky; The Story of Vanessa Block, Michael Sarnosky, Pig

best montage

Afonso Gonçalves, kiara

Ali Jarir hostel no place

Lauren Hadaway, Nathan Nugent, beginner

Joey McMillon, Zola

Enrico Natali Kenneth Chamberlain murder

Best Cinematography

Ante Cheng, Matthew Chuang, Blue Bio

Lol Crowley Humans

Tim Curtin, kiara

education degree, pass

Ari Wegner, Zola

Best international movie

Room No. 6
Finland / Russia
Director: Juho Kuzmanen

driving my car
Director: Ryosuke Hamaguchi

Parallel mothers
Director: Pedro Almodovar

Director: PS Vinothraj

little mom
Director: Celine Siama

Prayers for the stolen
Director: Tatiana Huizu

Robert Altman Prize

(Awarded to a single film director, a director and a choice of cast and actors)


Director: Fran Kranz
Casting Directors: Henry Russell Bergstein, Alison Estrine
Cast: Cagan Albright, Red Bernie, Michelle N. Carter, Anne Dodd, Jason Isaacs, Martha Plimpton, Breda Wall

John Cassavetes Prize

The award for Best Film Made for less than $500,000 is awarded (the prize is awarded to writer, director, and producer. Executive producers are not awarded).

Writer/Director: Dash Show
Producers: Tyler Davidson, Kyle Martin, Jane Samborsky, Bill Way

Writer/Director/Producer: Clint Bentley
Writer/Producer: Greg Quedar
Producer: Nancy Schaeffer

shiva baby
Writer/Director/Producer: Emma Seligman
Producers: Kieran Altman, Katie Schiller, Lizzie Shapiro

sweet thing
Writer/Director: Alexander Rockwell
Producers: Louis Anya, Haley Anderson, Kenan Baysal

This is not a war story
Writer/Director/Producer: Talia Lugacy
Producers: Noah Lange, Julian West

Producers Award
(The Producers Award, now in its 24th year, honors emerging producers who, despite very limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, persistence, and vision required to produce high-quality independent films.)
Brad Baker Barton, Ben Chun Liu, Lizzie Shapiro

Person to Watch Award
(The Someone to Watch Award, now in its 27th year, honors a talented filmmaker with an individual vision who has yet to receive proper recognition.)

Alex Camilleri, luzo

Michael Sarnosky, Pig

Gillian Wallace Horvat, I blame society


(The Truer Than Fiction Award, now in its 26th year, is given to an emerging director for non-fiction features who has not yet received much recognition.)

Angelo Madsen Minx, north by current

Jessica Bashir Faya Day

Debbie Loom, Make an effort!

TV Categories

Best New Series, Unwritten or Documentary

Award given to Creator, Executive Producer and Co-Executive Producer)

black and missing
Series Produced/Executive Producers: Soledad O’Brien, Geeta Gandbeir
Executive Producers: Joe Honig, Patrick Conway, Nancy Abraham, Lisa Heller, Sarah Rodriguez

show choy
Author/Executive Producer: David Choi
Executive Producers: Matt Rivelli, Christopher C. Chen, Hiro Murray, Nate Mathison

Mrs. Waldale
Executive Producers: Mark Duplass, Jay Duplass, Mel Eislin, Allen Payne, Andre Gaines, Nick Camilleri, Alana Carrethers, Zachary Drucker, Nancy Abraham, Lisa Heller

The nuclear family
Series: Ry Russo-Young
Executive Producers: Liz Garbus, Julie Geither, John Bardeen, Leah Holzer, Peter Saraf, Alex Turtletop, Jenny Raskin, Geralene White-Dreyfus, Lauren Haber, Maria Zuckerman, Kristen Connor, Ryan Heller, Barbara Dobkin, Eric Dobkin, Andrea Van Buren, Joe Landauer

philly d
Creators: Ted Basson, Yoni Brock, Nicole Salazar
Executive Producers: Dawn Porter, Sally Jo Pfeiffer, Louis Vossen, Ryan Chantry, Gina Konstantinakos, Jeff Seelbach, Patti Keulin
Co-Executive Producers: Neon McEvoy, Leslie Berryman

Best new written series (The award is given to the creator, executive producer and co-executive producer)

Writers/Executive Producers: Rafael Casale, David Diggs
Executive Producers: Jesse Wu Calder, Keith Calder, Ken Lee, Tim Palin, Emily Gerson Sainz, Seth Mann

It’s a sin
Executive Producers: Russell T Davis, Peter Hoare, Nicholas Schindler

booking dogs
Writers/Executive Producers: Sterlin Harjo, Taika Waititi
Executive Producer: Garrett Bash

Underground railway
Author/Executive Producer: Barry Jenkins
Executive Producers: Adele Romansky, Mark Serrick, Brad Pitt, Diddy Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Colson Whitehead, Richard Heus, Jacqueline Hoyt

We are a lady of parts
Author: Nada Mansour
Executive Producers: Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Sorian Fletcher Jones, Mark Freeland

Best Female Performance in a New Maktoob Series

helps, Underground railway

Anjana Vasan, We are a lady of parts

Jana Schmiding Rutherford Falls

Jasmine Cepheus Jones, blindness

Deborah Iurindi, them: covenant

Best Male Performance in a New Maktoob Series

Lee Jong Jae squid game

Olly Alexander, It’s a sin

Michael Gray, Rutherford Falls

Murray Bartlett white lotus

ashley thomas, them: covenant

Best group in a new Maktoob series

booking dogs
Cast: Devere Jacobs, Devron Won-a-Tay, Lynn Factor, Paulina Alexis, Sarah Bodimsky, Zane McClarennon, Lil Mike, Fanny Boone

Leave a Comment