Primetime and Daytime Emmy Awards realigned by genre

Emmy Award

Emmy Award
Photo: Valerie Macon/AFP (Getty Images)

More changes are coming to amys festivities. Following a decision last month by the Academy of Television and the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences To separate children’s programs from the family in a ceremony of its own, the two bodies are now changing for decades-old rules regarding the organization of competitions.

In past ceremonies, TV competitions It was broken down by the series’ air time – hence the focus on “Ptimetime “ opposite “dMonth.” However, starting from the new year, competitions will be organized by genre. This change means that digital daytime dramas as well as other daytime programming, including some talk shows and game shows, can move to Primetime Emmy Awards.

“The reorganization of the Emmys represents the most significant collaboration between the Academy of Television and NATAS since the two became separate entities in 1977,” says Murray McIntyre, President and COO of the Academy of Television.

For most shows, these changes will apply to the upcoming Call For Entries and will be reflected in the 2022 festivities. Meanwhile, the Game Show, Help and Craft Program categories will still be divided by airtime for the 2022 competitions as the two groups look to a genre-based alignment for the 2023 competition.

Change comes as a response to a radical transformation in The viewing habits of consumers as broadcasting continues to dominate cable and live streaming. In a press release, NATAS and ATAS rRealize that having two prize competitions based on airtime rather than “meaningless” content.

“NATAS and the Television Academy pride ourselves on celebrating and honoring the best television can offer, and as our industry has evolved, it has been imperative to update our competitions to meet current trends in both content and viewing habits,” says Adam Sharp, President and CEO, NATAS. “These changes will allow each academy to honor an undivided scope of achievement in our areas of television excellence.”

To break this further, All scripted dramas and comedies will enter the National Competition operated by the Television Academy, regardless of airtime, with two exceptions: Programming intended for ages 15 and under will be represented in the Children and Family Competition, and the Daytime Drama categories will remain in competition and redefined to include “any A daily multi-cam series, a daily weekday series, a separate show or a reboot.”

The limited drama series formerly Daytime will move to the Primetime Contest. In addition, talk shows will now be awarded in each competition, separated by format and style characteristics based on current programming in the daytime or late night spaces.

finally, the Morning Show and Spanish-Language Morning Show categories will be permanently removed from the Daytime Contest, and will now be eligible instead in the NATAS-operated News and Documents Emmys or the Daytime Contest Talk Show categories.


Leave a Comment